Korero Maori e!

Tau ke!

Thursday, June 16, 2011

Matariki The Seven Stars

Matariki marks the Maori new year. Matariki means little eyes of God. Matariki is also called The Seven Sisters.  These stars come out when it is a new moon around the 5th June.  It is also a good time to start planting seeds. The names of the stars are Waiti, Waita, Waipuna-a-rangi, Uru-a-rangi, Matariki, Tupu-a-nuku, and Tupu-a-rangi. Other cultures like Japan, Greece, Hawaii and Cook Islands also celebrate Matariki.   


  1. Kids from KohangaJune 17, 2011 at 10:18 PM

    Tamariki in schools these days are really lucky to be able to celebrate such an important time on the Maori calendar. Matariki is a wonderful time of the year. So glad your class is learning about the Seven Sisters.

  2. Tino pai! Matariki is the bomb. Those stars have been a guiding light for people through out the ages and have many meanings across the world, yet they always follow a similar theme. Pretty cool eh!